Thu, 18 Jul 2024


EU removes 4 countries from ‘bad tax governance’ list
By: Abara Blessing Oluchi
Wed, 21 Feb 2024   ||   Nigeria,

The European Union (EU) has removed Bahamas, Belize, Seychelles, Turks and Caicos Islands from its list of non-cooperative tax jurisdictions.

The EU list included countries that do not comply with good tax governance criteria, which were aligned with the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development’s (OECD) standards.

There are twelve countries, including Russia, written on the register of countries that do not cooperate with the EU or have not fully met their commitments.

The EU established the list in 2017, as part of its efforts to fight tax evasion and avoidance.

The list is regularly revised to reflect the most recent changes in governance measures of jurisdictions.



Back to News