Wed, 19 Jun 2024


Senate president names Sharafadeen, two other Oyo senators committee chairmen
By: Abara Blessing Oluchi
Tue, 8 Aug 2023   ||   Nigeria,

The President of the Senate, Godswill Akpabio, has announced the three senators from Oyo State as chairmen of different standing committees in the 10th Assembly.

The three senators are Sharafadeen Alli, Yunus Akintunde, and Abdulfatai Buhari.

While the duo of Alli and Akintunde are first-term lawmakers, Buhari is a third-term lawmaker in the Senate.

The trio was elected on the platform of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) in the election of February 25, 2023.

Alli represents Oyo South, while Akintunde and Buhari represent Oyo Central and Oyo North, respectively.

The Senate President, while announcing chairmen of standing committees in the Senate on Monday night, announced Alli as the chairman of the Senate Committee on Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC). He was also appointed vice chairman of the Senate Committee on Customs.

Akintunde was announced as the chairman of the Senate Committee on Environment, while Buhari chairs the Committee on Aviation.


Back to News