Mon, 15 Jul 2024


PSN Inducts 112 new members, inaugurates Usifoh as 23rd President (Photos)
By: Abara Blessing Oluchi
Wed, 9 Mar 2022   ||   Nigeria,

The Federal Capital Territory was agog on Thursday 10th February, 2022 as the Pharmaceutical Society of Nigeria (PSN) inaugurated its newly-elected president, Pharm., Professor Cyril Odianose Usifoh (FPSN FNAPharm) and the conferment of Fellowship awards on 112 worthy Ambassadors of Pharmacy profession.

The occasion was also a gathering of top echelon in Nigeria health sector, Captains of industries, Executive and Legislative arms of government of Nigeria, Chief Executives of Cooperate and Private organizations, Professional bodies, Royal Fathers, Religious leaders and other eminent Nigerians graced the event at the Congress Hall, Transcorp Hilton Hotel, Abuja.

Speaking at the occasion, the Inauguration Planning Committee Chairperson and MD of Medplus Pharmacy Limited, Pharm., (Mrs.) Joke Bakare (FPSN), in her welcome address advised the recipients of the prestigious awards to uphold the standard of practice and represent the association dutifully in their respective capacities.

In line with this thought, the Chairman of the occasion who is the current Chairman of Access Bank PLC, Pharm., (Dr) Dere Awosika, expressed her pleasure in the calibre of the attendees and strongly reassured the general public that members of the Pharmaceutical Society of Nigeria are capable of any desired development the nation may need in areas of health safety, medicine and its usage. She also asserted to render unflinching support the president, Professor Cyril Odianose Usifoh may need to work effectively.

The keynote speaker, the Vice-chancellor, University of Benin, Prof., Lilian Salami, while congratulating the new president lamented on the degradation of moral values in the society. She describes the social ills in Nigeria as a function of decay in developmental politics and failure of professionals to properly key into their set roles rather than the exaggerated effects of western cultures. She therefore strongly counselled all State actors to be dedicated to the ethics guiding their various professions and fields of discipline.

Speaking further on the lecture titled; “Igniting Our Society; Connecting the Dots.” She charged the pharmaceutical body to ensure there is no abuse of substance and expired drugs in circulation; bearing in mind that the sector is saddled with not just the responsibility of drug manufacturing but also medical and general health safety of the entire nation.

As the colourful event moved to its high point, the immediate past president of the association, Pharm., Mazi Sam Ohuabunwa mounted the podium to transfer the leadership mantle to his successor which is the official symbol of authority . He expressed his total confidence in the capability of the new president, saying “I am handing over to Professor Usifoh, and I am not reluctant to do so because, I believe in his capacity to deliver.”

In his inaugural address, the new PSN president, Professor Cyril Odianose Usifoh (FPSN FNAPharm), urged all within the rank and file of the professional circle to be united to progress and development in the areas of medicines and health care. He added, ‘’good listening ability, accountability, professionalism and transparency, are key leadership qualities to achieve the goal and these will be embraced during his tenure. If we want a united and progressive pharma-space, where pharmacists are increasingly relevant and respected for their invaluable contributions, then we need to work as a family.”

Also at the occasion was Honourable Minister of State for Health, Dr Adeleke Olorunnimbe Mamora.

Dignitaries that graced the event are the Minister for Works and Housing, Mr Babatunde Fashola. Minister for Mines and Steel, Arch Olamilekan Adegbite, the senate committee chairman on health, Distinguished Sen. Ibrahim Yahya. Distinguished Senate President, Ahmed Lawan, Mrs Angela Ndukuba, wife of the primate, Anglican Communion –Most Reverend Dr. Henry Ndukuba. Mr Adesina Adebayo, President, Nigerian Institute of Taxation, Prof Mrs Chinedum Babalola, Vice-chancellor, Chrisland Unversity, Abeokuta. Keynote Speaker, Prof. Lilian Imuentiny Salami, Vice Chancellor of University of Benin, Representative of ICAN President, Hon Nasir Mohammed, Special adviser to Ondo state governor on union matters and special duty, Mr Dare Aragbaye. Ondo state Commissioner for Health, Dr Banji Awolowo, Immediate past president of PSN, Pharm Mazi Ohuabunwa OFR. Hajia Ebune Talatu, Natoional Chairman of ACAPN , Pharm, Wale Oladigbolu, the representative of the new fellows, Past presidents and state chairmen of Pharmaceutical Society of Nigeria and among others.