Sun, 3 Mar 2024


“I’m happy the little I have achieved is being celebrated”—VC Chrisland University VC, Prof. Babalola
By: Abara Blessing Oluchi
Sat, 5 Nov 2022   ||   Nigeria,

The Vice Chancellor, Chrisland University, Abeokuta, Prof. Chinedum Peace Babalola, has expressed her deep sense of gratitude for the conferment of Female Achievers’ Award by the Women in Management, Business and Public Service (WIMBIZ) on her, as one of the five WIMBIZ achievers of the year 2022.

Babalola made the remark in an exclusive interview with CEOAFRICA to describe what the award means to her, shortly after the honour, at Eko Hotels and Suites, Lagos, as one of the activities marking the 21st anniversary of the organization.

“I think I must be the youngest of all those who won the award today. All I can say to WIMBIZ is thank you for counting me worthy among the firsts of the firsts who were honoured today. I am happy that the little I have achieved is being celebrated by the great women in WIMBIZ,” she said.

Speaking on the importance of the activities of the organization, the African Union Laureate stated that she has always been admiring the group from a distance, but never had the opportunity of joining them due to her many engagements.

She noted that when she attended the Lagos Business School and saw how many top achievers talked about WIMBIZ she was enticed to join.

She also highlighted that she would be impressed to see the organization incorporate young girls in higher institutions of learning into her activities, to enable the girls have mentors, who they look up to for success, while adding that such could also be incorporated in the entrepreneurship and leadership education, which Chrisland University has been notable for.

Meanwhile, WIMBIZ stated that the honour is in recognition of her immense contributions in the academia, as the first female professor of Pharmacokinetics.

The conference, with the theme, “Firing Forward: The Future in Focus”, held on Thursday 3rd and Friday 4th November, 2022, both physically and virtually, with the award presentation holding on Thursday at exactly 3:00 pm.

Other recipients of the merit award include Prof. Felicia Adetowun Omolara Banjo Ogunseye, Prof. Deborah Enile Ajekaiye, Prof. Laraba Gambo Abdullahi and Prof. Bolanle Awe.

Popular Nigerian literati and award-winning writer, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, as well as other top achievers across the globe were in attendance.


Back to News